Are Falconets Ready As U-20 World Cup Kicks Off Sunday

After nearly two years of build-up, training camps and international matches, the 2018 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup has finally arrived for Nigeria’s U-20 Women’s National Team, the Falconets.

The biannual competition taking place in France, runs from 5th August – 24th August, making it the ninth straight U20 World Cup appearance for the Falconets.

Falconets will begin their campaign when they face European powerhouse, Germany on Monday in their first group D game, and three days later face North Americans, Haiti before wrapping up the group stage against China on Monday 13th August.

Head Coach of the Falconets, Coach Chris Danjuma has stated that his team is ready and in good shape heading into the competition.

Danjuma in a chat with said that there were no injury concerns and no single player in the team is recuperating from any form of injury.


The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup crowns the world champions for women’s soccer at the Under-20 age level. Sixteen teams from around the globe have qualified through continental competitions to earn their spots in France.

Nigeria and Ghana carry the banner for Africa in this year’s event, while the later is drawn in Group A, alongside host France, New Zealand and the Netherlands.

Recall that the Falconets have gone all the way to the final of the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup on two occasions.

Nigeria’s 2018 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Roster by position with clubs:
Goalkeepers (3): Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Edo Queens), Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels), Rita Akarekor (Sunshine Queens).

Defenders (7): Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels), Gift Monday (Robo Queens), Oluwakemi Famuditi (Confluence Queens), Joy Duru (Nasarawa Amazons), Mary Ologbosere (Ibom Angels), Opeyemi Sunday (Sunshine Queens), Blessing Ezekiel (Rivers Queens).


Midfielders (6): Mary Saiki (Rivers Angels), Christy Ucheibe (Capital City Doves), Peace Efih (Edo Queens), Adebisi Saheed (Robo Queens), Grace Igboamalu (Nasarawa Amazons), Taibat Odueke (Edo Queens).

Forwards (6): Rasheedat Ajibade (Robo Queens), Bashirat Amoo (Confluence Queens), Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazon), Chidinma Okeke (Robo Queens), Aishat Bello (Nasarawa Amazons).

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.