Buhari Appoints Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as New INEC Chairman

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Professor Muhammad Yakubu as the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Yakubu’s appointment was approved by the Council of State, after their meeting on Wednesday in Abuja.

His appointment as INEC chairman is however subject to the confirmation of the Nigerian Senate.


Prof. Yakubu is a professor of political history and international studies, he served as Executive Secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) under the administration of Late President Umaru Musa Yar’adua.

Sokoko State Governor Aminu Tambuwal, who briefed State House correspondents after the meeting, said the appointment of the new INEC boss was in line with relevant provisions of the 1999 Constitution and in consultation with the Council of State.

He said the Acting chairman of the Commission, Amina Zakari, is now the INEC Commissioner representing the North-West.

The new positions approved by the council of state are;

1. Professor Mahmood Yakubu (Bauchi) as chairman


2. Mrs Amina Zakari (Jigawa)–North-West

3. Dr Antonia Taiye Okoosi (Kogi)–North-central

4. Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (Borno)–North-east

5. Dr Mohammed Mustafa (Edo)–South-south

6. Mr Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (Ogun)–South-west


The Council of State, however, resolved that Ambassador Lawrence Nwuruku who is currently representing the South-east should remain in his position.


Leave a comment