Buhari Approves Establishment Of National Food Security Council

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the constitution of the National Food Security Council, the Presidency says.

This was contained in a statement signed by Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity to President Muhammadu Buhari, in Abuja on Friday.

According to the statement, the council, which will be inaugurated on Monday, will be chaired by President Buhari.

Shehu explained that the broad objectives of the Council will include, developing sustainable solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes; Climate Change and Desertification and their impact on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta Fishing Communities; piracy and banditry; agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.

The Council will also take interest in regional and global policies and trends that bear implications for food security in Nigeria.

Members of the council, include; Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi, Darius Ishaku of Taraba, Simon Lalong of Plateau, Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos, David Umahi of Ebonyi, and Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta state.

Other Members are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, the Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari, the National Security Adviser, Babagana Monguno and seven (7) cabinet Ministers.

The Ministers to be represented are for Agriculture and Rural Development; Finance; Interior; Industry, Trade and Investment; Water Resources; Environment; and Budget and National Planning.

The National Food Security Council will also have as Members, the Chief of Defence Staff; the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; the Directors-General of the Department of State Services and the National Intelligence Agency as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.