Buhari Shocks Nigerians As All Ministers Get Portfolios

President Muhammadu Buhari shocked Nigerians on Wednesday as he finally inaugurated 36 ministers with portfolios at a ceremony at the Presidential Villa, Abuja contrary to his claim of cutting down on cost of governance.

The ceremony which started at about 10:30 with the ministerial candidates taking their oaths before the president in batches of four, had in attendance Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker of the House of Reps Yakubu Dogara, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Babachir Lawal, Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari, Acting Head of Service, Mrs. Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita amongst other government functionaries..

Speaking at the event, Buhari said he and the vice president took their time to constitute a cabinet that will best deliver results to a country they inherited. He said he is optimistic of the ministers to realise the positive goals of development and charged them translate the confidence into results.


According to Buhari, the nominees have been chosen carefully such that round pegs are in round holes unlike in the past.

The president said he is conscious of the ethnic diversity of the country and consulted widely for an inclusive cabinet, adding that with the decline in oil resources, the cabinet will work towards diversification to achieve self-sufficiency.
List of the ministers and portfolios are:

  1. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)–Transportation
  2. Chris Ngige (Anambra)–Labour and Employment
  3. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti)–Solid Minerals
  4. Babatunde Fashola (Lagos)–Power, Works and Housing
  5. Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano)–Interior
  6. Aisha Alhassan (Taraba)–Women Affairs
  7. Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi)–Science and Technology
  8. Kemi Adeosun (Ogun)–Finance
  9. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi)–Justice
  10. Hadi Sirika (Katsina)–State for Aviation
  11. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)–Water Resources
  12. Solomon Dalong (Plateau)–Youths and Sports
  13. Ibe Kachikwu (Delta)–State for Petroleum
  14. Osagie Ehanire (Edo)–State for Health
  15. Audu Ogbeh (Benue)–Agriculture
  16. Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom)–Budget and National Planning
  17. Lai Mohammed (Kwara)–Information
  18. Amina Mohammed (Gombe)–Environment
  19. Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa)–State, Environment
  20. Anthony Onwuka (Imo), State for Education
  21. Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa)–FCT
  22. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi)–Education
  23. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia)–Industry Trade and Investment
  24. Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) State for Trade, Industry and Investment
  25. Khadija Bukar Abba (Yobe), State for Foreign Affairs
  26. Claudius Daramola (Ondo)–State, Niger Delta
  27. Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu)–Foreign Affairs
  28. Monsur Dan-Ali (Zamfara)–Defence
  29. James Ocholi (Kogi), State for Labour
  30. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna), State for Budget
  31. Mustapha Shehuri (Borno)–State for Power
  32. Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa)–State for Agric
  33. Isaac Adewole Folorunsho (Osun)–Health
  34. Usani Usani Uguru (Cross River)– Niger Delta
  35. Abubakar Bwari Bawa (Niger)–State for Solid Minerals
  36. Adebayo Shittu (Oyo)–Communications
  37. Muhammadu Buhari–Petroleum
Leave a comment