Covid-19: Indonesia Bans Arrivals From Nigeria, South Africa, 6 Other Nations

In view of the recent outbreak of a new covid-19 variant, Omicron, the Indonesia Government has imposed travel restrictions on travellers who have visited Nigeria and South Africa in the last 14 days.

The ban also extends to Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique and Eswatini.

Indonesia’s Coordinating Minister, Luhut Pandjaitan, announced this on Sunday.

“Omicron has spread to more countries, so to respond to these developments, today the government wants to carry out the following policies,” he said.

Reuters reports that the government further extended quarantine times for all arrivals, as a preventive measures against the new Omicron coronavirus variant.

Meanwhile, the government official added that delegates scheduled to be at the G20 meetings in the country are excluded from the ban or stiff protocol.

The ban begins from Monday till when new directives are given.

Recall that the Omicron variant was first discovered in South Africa on November 24.

The World Health Organization described it as a virus of “concern” which is capable of reducing the effects of vaccines.

WHO has urged all countries to tighten measures to curb the menace which had taken the lives of over a million people, globally.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.