FG Revokes Diplomatic Passports Of Ex-Governors, Ministers, Senators, Others

The Federal Government has ordered all former governors, non-serving senators, former ministers and other ex-government officials in possession of diplomatic passports to return them to the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) with immediate effect.

This is in line with the directive from the Presidency that the diplomatic and official passports held by unauthorised persons be withdrawn.


A statement signed by comptroller-general, NIS, MK Abeshi, informed that the directive also affect all the retired heads of service and other parastatals.

The statement listed the affected persons to include, “former: state governors; senators; members of House of Representatives; members of state houses of assemblies; ministers; commissioners; special advisers/special assistants; chairmen/deputy chairmen of local governments areas; all retired heads of parastatals and retired public servants.

The statement read in part, “These categories of persons are hereby informed that these passports which were previously held by them have been revoked and should return them to the Nigeria Immigration Service Headquarters Sauka Abuja with immediate effect,

“Immigration Service hereby directs all affected persons to comply forthwith.”

The Comptroller General threatened that failure to comply with the directive will amount to an offence under the Immigration Act 2015.


Leave a comment