Governor Wike Dissolves 22 Local Government Caretaker Committees In Rivers

[caption id="attachment_1653" align="alignnone" width="600"]Rivers State Governor, Chief Nyesom Wike[/caption]

Rivers State Governor, Chief Nyesom Wike, on Thursday, dissolved the states 22 local government caretaker committees with immediate effect.

Wike who made the announcement through his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Opunabo Inko-Tariah said that the dissolution of the caretaker committees follows the expiration of their tenure.

You will recall that three months ago, the governor had appointed the caretaker committee chairmen to man 22 out of the 23 local government councils in the state.


One of the councils in the state, Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni Local Government Area, was exempted because the tenure of the council chairman, Mr. Austin Ahiamadu, who was elected as the council chairman of the area during the tenure of former governor of the state, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, had not elapsed.

Wike, however, directed the 22 caretaker committees to hand over to various heads of local government administrations.

Wike said, “The Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, has dissolved the 22 local Government Caretaker committees in the state.

“The dissolution is with immediate effect. The 22 caretaker committees are to hand over to the various heads of local government administrations.


“The statutory three months tenure for Caretaker committees expires today.”

Leave a comment