Lawmakers-Elect Get Certificate Of Return Today, Okorocha Missing

One hundred (100) successful candidates in the 2019 Senatorial Elections and three hundred and twenty five (325) members-elect of the House of Representatives will today receive their Certificates of Return from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Recall that the 2019 National Assembly election held on 23rd February 2019.

Conspicuously missing at the venue of the event holding at the International Conference Centre, ICC, Abuja is the governor of Imo State, Rochas Okorocha, who was announced as the lawmaker elected to represent Imo West Senatorial district.


Recall that the electoral body had omitted the name of Okorocha after the Returning Officer for the Senatorial District, Innocent Ibeawuchi, who announced him winner said he was made to do so under duress.

On the official list of senators-elect published on the commission’s website, Okorocha’s name was omitted with “declaration made under duress”, boldly written instead.

Similarly, eight other senator-elect will not be receiving their certificates of return today as their candidacy will be determined by a supplementary election or court order.


States which will have to undertake supplementary senatorial elections include Rivers, Plateau, Ondo, Kogi, Imo State and Abia while Bauchi South Senatorial candidate’s eligibility will be determined by the court.

While the All Progressives Congress, APC has 62 senators, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has 37 and the Young Progressive Party, YPP, has 1 candidate.


On the other hand, 25 members-elect of the lower chamber will not receive their certificate today as the INEC has ordered supplementary elections to hold in their states, 9 others will have to wait for the court to determine their eligibility while one lawmaker-elect has “declaration made under duress” written by his name.

The INEC will commence the presentation of certificates to members of the House of Representatives-elect by 2pm.


You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!