Messi, Liverpool Make Laureus20 Award Nomination List

Laureus20 World Sports Awards has announced its nominees with Messi being the only footballer to make the sports person of the year list as Liverpool makes team of the year nomination list and the come back of the year.

The Laureus20 World Sport award academy celebrates its 20 years anniversary since 2000.

Lionel Messi the Barcelona captain won his sixth Balloon d’ Or and the FIFA player of the year award in 2019, as his performance last season was intriguing.

Liverpool won the UEFA Champions League 2018/2019 season after a great 4:0 come back in Amfield following a 3:0 loss to Barcelona at Camp Nou in the semi finals of the champions league.

Andy Ruiz made the breakthrough nomination list as he lifted the World Boxing Association (WBO), International Boxing Federation (IBF), World Boxing Organisation (WBO) and International Boxing Organisatio (IBO) titles, after beating heavyweight champion Anthony Joshua in June 2019.


Six contenders for Sportsman of the Year

Lionel Messi: Football (Argentina)

Rafael Nasal: Tennis (Spain)

Lewis Hamilton: Motor racing (UK)

Eluid Kipchoge: Athletics (Kenya)


Marc Marquez: Motor cycling (Spain)

Tiger Woods: Golf (US)

Laureus20 Sportswoman of the Year

These six ladies all had an incredible 2019 and continue to inspire people around the world.

Allyson Felix: Athletics ( USA)

Megan Rapinoe: Football USA

Simone Biles: Gymnastics (USA)

Naomi Osaka: Tennis (Japan)

Mikael Shiffrin: Skiing (USA)


Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce: Athletics Jamaica

Announcing the following six nominees who have been recognised for the Laureus20 Team of the Year category
Liverpool FC: Football (UK)

Spain Men’s Team: Basketball

Petronas f1: Motor racing (Germany)

Toronto Raptors: Basketball (Canada)

South Africa Men’s Team: (Rugby)

USA Women’s Team: Football

Laureus20 Comeback of the Year personifies the true spirit, determination and tenacity to overcome hurdles.
“The six nominees who epitomise all of those characteristics and more.”

Nathan Andrian: Swimming (USA)

Kawhi Leonard: Basketball (USA)

Sofia Florsch: Racing (Germany)

Liverpool FC (UK)

Christian Lealiifano: Rugby Union(Australia)

Andy Murray: Tennis (UK)

Laureus20 Breakthrough of the Year award

Andy Ruiz Jr: Boxing (USA)

Bianca Andreescu: Tennis (Canada)

Japan Men’s Team: Rugby Union

Egan Bernal: Cycling (Columbia)

Coco Gauff: Tennis USA

Rogan Smith: Swimming (USA)

The award will be presented on Febuary 17, in Berlin.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.