Messi, Ronaldo, Van Dijk Make FIFA Shortlist For Best Player Award

Barely four days after the announcement of the UEFA best men player of the year, the trio of Lionel Messi, Christiano Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk have again made it to the FIFA shortlist for the best player award.


Van Dijk was last week, August 29th announced as the winner of the European title to defeat Messi and Ronaldo.

The FIFA best player will be announced in Milan on September 23.

The duo of Messi and Ronaldo are the highest holders of the title since its inception in 1991.

The award has been won consecutively five times by Messi and Ronaldo between (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015) and (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017) respectively.

The current holder of the title, Luka Modric of Real Madrid, won it in 2018.         


FIFA Best shortlists

Men’s player:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands)

Women’s player:

Lucy Bronze (Lyon/England), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride/USA), Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC/USA)


Men’s coach:

Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)

Women’s coach:

Jill Ellis (USA), Phil Neville (England), Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

Women’s goalkeeper:

Christiane Endler (Paris St-Germain/Chile), Hedvig Lindahl (Wolfsburg/Sweden), Sari van Veenendaal (Atletico Madrid/Netherlands)


Men’s goalkeeper:

Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil), Ederson (Manchester City/Brazil), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany)

Puskas award (for the best goal):

Lionel Messi (Barcelona v Real Betis), Juan Quintero (River Plate v Racing Club), Daniel Zsori (Debrecen v Ferencvaros)


Leave a comment