New CBN DGs, MPC Members Assume Office

Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Lametek Adamu have formally assumed duty as Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), following the confirmation of their appointments last week by the Nigerian Senate.

According to a statement signed by the bank’s acting Director, Corporate Communications, Mr Isaac Okoroafor on Wednesday in Abuja, Prof Adeola Adenikinju, Dr Robert Asogwa and Dr Aliyu Sanusi also commenced their tenure as Members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

Okorafor said the CBN governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, welcomed the new Deputy Governors and members of the MPC to the Bank, and congratulated them on their respective appointments by President Muhammadu Buhari and subsequent confirmation by the Senate.

Mr. Emefiele expressed gladness that the Bank now had a full complement of Deputy Governors to enable it operate optimally as well as the required quorum to enable the MPC hold its statutory meetings for formulating monetary and credit policy.

He therefore charged the Deputy Governors and MPC members to bring their experience to bear in the discharge of their new responsibilities, stressing that much was expected of them.

Thereafter, the Director, Monetary Policy Department, Mr Moses Tule, read out the Charter of the MPC to new members and then they retired into their first MPC retreat.

The retreat is in preparation for the first MPC meeting for 2018 scheduled to hold on Tuesday, April 3 and Wednesday, April 4.

It will be recalled that the Nigerian Senate had last Thursday, confirmed the appointment of Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Adamu as substantive Deputy Governors CBN along with three members of the Monetary Policy Committee.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.