New House Of Reps C’ttee To Screen Service Chiefs

Following the appointment of the new Service Chiefs and the subsequent letter to the National Assembly by President Muhammadu Buhari to approve same, the House of Representatives yesterday set up a joint committee to screen the new appointees for confirmation.

The committee is made up of 40 members of the House, who were announced by the Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila at Wednesday plenary.

The members of the committee included the Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of Standing Committees on Defence, Army, Air Force and Navy among others.

Recall that the President a fortnight ago announced the appointment of new Service Chiefs to be: Maj. Gen. Lucky Eluonye Onyenuchea lrabor – Chief of Defence Staff; Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo – Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao – Chief of Air staff respectively.

In the letter addressed to the speaker, Buhari had requested that the appointees be screened in line with the provisions of extant laws (Armed Forces Establishment Act).

“In compliance with the provisions of Section 18(1) of the Armed Forces Act. Cap A20 Laws the Federation of Nigeria 2004, I hereby forward for confirmation by the House of Representatives, the appointment of the under listed officer as the Chief of Defence Staff and Services Chiefs of the Armed forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“I hope that the Honourable House will consider and confirm the nominees in the usual expeditious manner,” Buhari said in the letter.