Senate Confirms Chairman, Board Members For Downstream, Upstream Regulatory Agencies

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed the Chairmen, Chief Executives and Executive Commissioners of the Board of the Nigerian Upstream Regulatory Commission; and the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority.

For the Nigerian Upstream Regulatory Commission, the nominees confirmed are Isa Modibo (Chairman); Gbenga Komolafe (Chief Executive); Hassan Gambo (Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts); and Rose Ndong (Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management).

Those confirmed for the Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority are Idaere Ogan (Chairman); Farouk Ahmed (Chief Executive); Abiodun Adeniji (Executive Director, Finance and Accounts); and Ogbugo Ukoha (Executive Director, Distributions Systems, Storage and Retail Infrastructure).

Both agencies were created following the implementation of the Petroleum Industry Act, signed into law in August by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Senate said that the confirmation of the nominees satisfies the requirements of Sec 18 (1-5) of the Petroleum Industry Act.

The President of the Senate Ahmed Lawal urged the new heads to lead the reforms in the oil and gas sector.

He said while they have been confirmed, the Senate expects patriotism from them.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.