Aubamayang Crowned African Player Of the Year, Osimhen, Etebo Win Young Player Awards

Gabon international and Borrussia Dortmund Forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubamayang on Thursday night was named the best player in Africa for the year 2015 at the Glo-CAF Award ceremony held at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

The prolific Borussia Dortmund forward, who received 143 votes, is the first player from the central African country to win the award.

The 26-year old was crowned ahead of Manchester City’s Yaya Toure, who was the the first runner-up of the big award while Ghana and Swansea forward, Andre Ayew, was the third of the nominees.

Toure won the award four times in a row between 2011 to 2014, the first African star to have achieved that feat, but was denied a record fifth time by his Gabonese rival.

On receiving the award the BVB striker said: “I thank the people of Gabon, this award is for them. I want to thank my team mates in the national team and also at Dortmund. It is their work that helps me to score goals.

“For the parents of the youth of Africa, please give your kids a chance to realise their dreams,” Aubameyang added.

The 26-year-old is the second player born in Europe to win the award after Frederic Kanoute, the Parisian-born Mali international.

Golden Eaglets striker at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Chile, Victor Osimhen, who was the top scorer at the championship, won the Youth Player of the Year award while Kelechi Nwakali who captained the team to win the tournament was awarded the Most Valuable Player prize

Osimhen set a new goal scoring record of 10 goals at the last FIFA U-17 World Cup in Chile as Nigeria won a record fifth title.

Warri Wolves striker, Oghenekaro Etebor, was awarded the most promising talent for his exploit at the 2015 CAF U-23 Championship in Senegal where he finished as top scorer.

Etebor defeated compatriot, Azubuike Okechukwu, Mali’s Djigui Diarra, Mahmoud Abdelmonem of Egypt and Zinedine Ferhat of Algeria to clinch the award.

Herve Renard won the Coach of the Year award for leading the Ivorian national team to the 2015 African Cup of Nations, the first by the team since 1992.

Renard won the award ahead of Nigerian U-17 head coach, Emmanuel Amuneke.

The National Team of the Year (male) award was won by the Elephants of Cote d’ Ivoire who won the 2015 African Cup of Nations. They beat off competition from the Nigeria U-17 national team, Golden Eaglets, who won the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup for a record fifth time, and Ghana.

The African Dream Team had Nigeria’s trio of Azubuike Okechukwu, Kelechi Nwakali and Victor Osimhen as part of the substitutes. The Africa XI had the likes of Yaya Toure, Pierre Emerick Aubamayang, Andre Ayew, Sadio Mane amongst others.

The Platinum award was given to Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari. It was received by a representative on behalf of the country’s leader.

The African Footballer of the Year is decided by a vote of coaches or technical directors of all Africa’s national teams.

All The Awards

African Player Of The Year, 2015: Pierre-Emerrick Aubameyang (Gabon)

CAF Platinum Award, 2915: Muhammadu Buhari

Football Leader Of The Year, 2015: Abdoqaini Said Arab (Somalia)

African Player Of The Year Based In Africa: Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania)

2015 African Legends Award: Charles Kumi Gyami(Ghana) & Samuel Mbappe Leppe (Cameroon)

Referee Of The Year Award: Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)

Women’s Player Of The Year 2015: Gaelle Enganamouit

Coach Of The Year, 2015: Harve Renard (Cote d’Ivoire)

Youth Player Of The Year, 2015: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

The Most Promising Talent Award, 2015: Etebo Oghenekaro (Nigeria).

Club Of The Year, 2015: TP Mazembe, DR Congo

CAF Fair Play Award, 2015: Allez Casa

Women’s National Team Of The Year, 2015: Cameroon

National Team Of The Year, 2015: Cote d’Ivoire

Africa Finest XI:

Goalkeeper: Robert Muteba KIDIABA (DR Congo).

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia), Mohamed MEFTAH (Algeria).

Midfielders: Andre AYEW (Ghana), Yaya TOURE (Cote d’Ivoire), Sadio MANE (Senegal), Yacine BRAHIMI (Algeria).

Forwards: Mbwana Aly SAMATTA (Tanzania), Pierre-Emerrick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon), Baghdad BOUNEDJAH (Algeria).

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.