BlackBerry Announced on Monday, that it has dropped the fee it required to access the privacy features retract and timer functions across iOS, Android and BlackBerry smartphones.
The Canadian smartphone company assured users of enhanced privacy and control features that allow them to take control over the messages and content that they share without any subscription fee.
Blackberry released the privacy enhancing tools in 2014 as an initially free trial in the BBM app.
The trial, which expired after three months, thereafter became a subscription option.
The feature allows BBM users to remove their messages and pictures from recipients to take them back from their phone if they were sent as a mistake, or if they no longer wish them to be accessible. Also, they can set a timer to control how long contacts can view messages and pictures.
“Building on the renowned immediacy, reliability and security inherent to BBM, the new release provides unmatched level of privacy and control to BBM users without any subscription fees,” said Matthew Talbot, SVP, BBM at Blackberry.
“Keeping control over the messages and content that they share, BBM users can be ensured that what they share is always theirs to control,” he added.
Some of the other features that come as a part of an update to Android, iOS and BlackBerry 10 are free access to the Private Chat and Edit features.
Private Chat feature removes names and avatars from the chat window, while Edit features lets you to edit the sent message.
The company will make the change in an update to the app today, Monday April 4, 2016. The update is available on Google Play for BBM Android app, however it is yet to reach iOS and BB10 OS.