Fashola Swears In Six New NERC Commissioners

[caption id="attachment_16416" align="alignnone" width="640"]Babatunde Raji Fashola, Minister of Power Works and Housing[/caption]

The Minister of Power Works and Housing, Babatunde Raji Fashola on Tuesday swore-in six new commissioners of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

The new commissioners were sworn-in by the minister amid steady decline in power generation by the power generation companies (GENCOs).

They are; Engr. Sanusi Garba, Prof. Frank Okafor, Dafe Akpeneye. Others are, Nathan Roger Shattti, Dr. Musiliu Oseni and Dr. Moses Arigu.

In a statement issued by an assistant director in the ministry, Etore Thomas, Fashola urged the commissioners to be “firm but fair” in discharging their duties, while having business at the back of their minds.

The minister noted that with the present capacity of 3500MW, the sector ought to have achieved 6500MW if not for activities of militants in the Niger Delta region who had repeatedly attacked oil installations in the region.

Meanwhile both the GENCOs and the distribution companies (DISCOs) had last month, January, traded blames over growing indebtedness estimated at over N400billion as being the cause of the dwindling supply of electricity supply in the country.The GENCOs had accused the DISCOs of owing them the said sum.

Fashola said that the inauguration of the commissioners will ‘’provide stability in governance, regulatory actions and institutions building to the sector’’, adding that the Ministry and the Commission will now “focus rigorously on policy formulation and regulation”.

Thanking President Muhammadu Buhari on behalf of the newly inaugurated commissioners was the Vice- Chairman of the Commission, Engr. Sanusi Garba, who assured the current administration of their commitment to serve the nation and steer the affairs of the NERC.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.