GLO-CAF Award: Amuneke, Osimhen And Four Others Nominated

Ahead of the forthcoming Glo-CAF Awards scheduled for January 2016, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Monday shortlisted six Nigerians for the prestigious award.

The names were announced at a joint press briefing by CAF organisers of the annual African footballer of the year award and its exclusive sponsor, Globacom, at a joint press conference held at Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Abuja.

They include Coach Emmanuel Amuneke (Coach of the year), Kelechi Nwakali and Victor Osimhen (Youth Player of the Year), Ngozi Ebere (Women Player of the Year) and the duo of Azubuike Okechukwu and Etebo Oghenekaro (Most Promising Talent).

CAF also released names of top three finalists for the Africa-based ‘Player of the Year’ Award. They are: Mbwana Aly Samatta of Tanzania and TP Mazembe, Baghdad Bounedjah of Algeria and Etoile du Sahel and Robert Kidiaba of Dmocratic Republic of Congo and TP Mazembe.

For Coach of the year, Amuneke is joined by Baye Ba of Mali Under 17 team, Fawzi Benzarti of Etoile Sportive de Sahel, Herve Renard of Cote dIvoire and Patrice Carteron of TPMazembe were nominated.

The Youth Player of the Year nominees has Adama Traore of Mali, Kelechi Nwakali of Nigeria, Samuel Diarra of Mali, Victor Osimhen of Nigeria and Yaw Yeboah of Ghana as nominees.

For the Most Promising Player of Year, Azubuike Okechukwu and Etebo Oghenekaro will contend with Mahmoud Abdelmonem of Egypt, and Zinedine Ferhat of Algeria.

Others are the National Team of the Year Award which will be contested for by Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mali U-17, Nigeria U-17 and Nigeria U-23 teams.

Since Globacom Limited took over the sponsorship of the CAF Award, the ceremony has become one of the world’s most iconic sports awards, providing Africa with a reputable forum for recognising and rewarding excellence in the various departments of football.

CAF also announced Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Yaya Toure, as the final candidates for the African Footballer of the Year.

This year’s ceremony will hold at the International Conference Centre, Abuja on 7th January, 2016.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.