Breaking News, Nigeria, Africa, World, Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business, News

Kogi Assembly Suspends 10 APC Members

0 23

The Kogi State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, suspended 10 legislators for their alleged involvement in the leadership crisis rocking the house since November 2015.

They are the embattled Speaker, Momo-Jimoh Lawal (PDP-Okene II), Matthew Kolawole (PDP-Kabba-Bunu), Aliyu Akuh (PDP-Omala), Victor Omofaiye (PDP-Ijumu) and Sunday Shigaba (PDP-Bassa).

Others are Alfa Momoh-Rabiu (APC-Ankpa II), Enenche Linus (APC-Olamaboro), Obaro Pedro (APC-Mopa-Muro), Ndako Idris (APC-Lokoja II) and Zakari Osewu (APC-Kogi-KK).

It was learnt that the suspension order, issued on the floor of the House at plenary on Tuesday, followed the adoption of a report of the ad hoc committee commissioned on March 10 to investigate those behind the crisis.

RELATED:  Buhari Settled Northerners Who Voted Him With Our Collective Wealth -Fayose

Presenting the report, John Abah (PDP-Ibaji), the Chairman of the ad hoc committee, the situation in the state had not resulted to a breakdown of law and order for the National Assembly to exercise its powers in invoking section 11(4), leaving out the provision of 11(5) of the constitution.

While attributing the inability of the house to resolve the crisis to the 10 members, the chairman recommended that all legal processes instituted in various courts be exhaustively determined to ensure due process, rule of law and justice to all parties.

RELATED:  Buhari Is 'Fatigued', Has Been Abandoned By Atiku, Tinubu - Lamido

The committee, therefore recommended that the 10 members indicted by the committee be suspended from sitting.

The motion for the adoption of the report was seconded by the Majority Leader, Friday Sanni (PDP-Igalamela-Odolu).

The Speaker, Umar Imam, ruled on the adoption of the recommendations of the committee following overwhelming voice votes in favour of the report.