Breaking News, Nigeria, Africa, World, Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business, News

Petr Cech Beats De Gea To Premier League Golden Glove Award

0 60
[caption id="attachment_8403" align="alignnone" width="690"]Image Credit: GETTY IMAGESPetr Cech, Arsenal Goalkeeper [/caption]

Petr Cech has won the English Premier League’s 2015/16 Golden Gloves award in his debut season at Arsenal.

The Czech Republic captain, who has also won the Golden Glove four times, kept 16 clean sheets in 34 appearances to claim the prize.

He beat stiff competition from Manchester United’s shot-stopper David De Gea, after Arsenal’s 4-0 drubbing of relegated Aston Villa on Sunday afternoon.

De Gea missed out on the prize after Chris Smalling’s own goal in stoppage time during Manchester United’s 3-1 win over Bournemouth on Tuesday night to deny the Spaniard the chance to share the award with Cech.

RELATED:  Antonio Conte Warns Luiz, You May Be Left Out For Good

De Gea finished with 15 clean sheets, tying him in joint-second with Kasper Schmeichel, of league champions Leicester City, and Manchester City’s Joe Hart – winner of last season’s award.

Tottenham’s Hugo Lloris came fifth with 13 clean sheets.

Since his £10m switch to the Gunners last summer, Cech has conceded the fewest amount of goals of any Premier League goalkeeper to play more than 30 games this term. He was beaten just 31 times in 34 appearances over the course of the campaign.

RELATED:  Harry Kane Scores Twice As Spurs Thrash Liverpool 4-1

Manchester City’s Joe Hart has picked up the most Golden Glove awards since after it was created in 2004/05.

Premier League 2015/16 – Most Clean Sheets
Petr Cech (Arsenal) 16
Joe Hart (Man City) 15
David de Gea (Man Utd) 15
Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester) 15
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham) 13
Heurelho Gomes (Watford) 11
Simon Mignolet (Liverpool) 11
Jack Butland (Stoke) 10
Lukasz Fabianski (Swansea) 9
Adrian (West Ham) 9