PFA Team: Leicester, Tottenham Dominate As Ozil Misses Out

[caption id="attachment_7581" align="alignnone" width="680"]Mesut Ozil [/caption]

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA), on Thursday, released a list of players with the highest performances in their clubs, with Leicester City and Tottenham players dominating, while Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil misses out.

The German midfielder who was among the six nominees for the PFA player of the year narrowly lost out to Totenham’s Delle Alli, however Hector Bellerin emerged as the only Arsenal player to make a line-up decided by the votes of Premier League players.

Manchester United’s David de Gea is named in goal for the third time in his United career, while Bellerin and Danny Rose make up the full backs.

In central defence, Totenham’s Toby Alderweireld, who arguably has been the best central defender this season was paired with Leicester’s skipper, Wes Morgan.

Riyad Mahrez was named in right midfield – only teammate Jamie Vardy (28) has been directly involved in more goals than Mahrez (27 – 16 goals, 11 assists) this season, while Dimitri Payet who is on the left flank, has been in sublime form following his summer move from Marseille.

At the centre, Totenham’s surprise package, 20-year-old Delle Alli who contributed immensely to Spurs title challenge this season, lines up alongside Leicester’s Nkolo Kante – who has made more tackles (149) than any other player in the PL this season.

Premier League top-scorer, Harry Kane leads the attack for the second time in a row, after netting 24-times this season, the 22-year old is lined up with fellow Englishman Jamie Vardy – whose 22-goals have earned Leicester 21 points in the League this season.

A statement on the organisation’s website read: “The PFA is disappointed that a member of the public has chosen to deliberately leak our representative teams from the official brochure of the Awards Evening.

“As a matter of urgency, we are seeking a detailed explanation from the brochure printers as to how they were able to secure a copy of the publication.

“The unveiling of the PFA representative teams is eagerly awaited by our members and football fans throughout the country and we hope that the unfortunate leak does not affect the wide-ranging debate and discussion which accompanies their normal release on the day of the event.”

The PFA awards evening takes place on Sunday 24 April, when the PFA Player of the Year will be announced. Vardy, Kane, Mahrez, Kane, Ozil and Payet are on the shortlist for that award.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.