Rohr Names Etebo In 24-Man Squad For Algeria Clash

[caption id="attachment_13283" align="alignnone" width="699"]Gernot Rohr, Super Eagles Technical Adviser[/caption]

Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has named his 24-man squad for next month’s 2018 World Cup qualifier against Algeria in Uyo.

The German tactician retained most of the players that defeated the Chipolopolo of Zambia 2-1 in Ndola earlier this month, to take the Eagles to the summit of Group B of the African race.

Skipper, Mikel John Obi, assistant captain Ahmed Musa, Goalkeeper Leon Balogun and English Premier League duo, Victor Moses and Odion Ighalo, are among those invited.

Manchester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho and Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi were instrumental to the three-time African champions’ victory against Zambia, and they return for the clash against the Desert Warriors.

Nigeria’s top scorer at the Olympic Men’s Football Tournament in Brazil, Oghenekaro Etebo and in –form Israeli –based midfielder, John Ogu are also in the 24-man squad.

“I am delighted to be recalled and I hope to give my best to the country as always,” Etebo told BBC Sport following his first call-up under the new national manager.

FC IfeanyiUbah goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa is the only player from the Nigeria premier league picked as the competition is on a break.

Rohr had warned the invited players to arrive the team’s Bolton White Apartment in Abuja on November 7 to begin preparation for the game, stating that there is no automatic shirt for any member of the squad.

The Super Eagles will host Algeria at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium on Saturday, November 12.

The full squad:
Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (FC Cesarense, Portugal)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium), Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.