Breaking News, Nigeria, Africa, World, Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business, News

Roy Hogson Names England Provisional Squad For Euro 2016

0 34
[caption id="attachment_8336" align="alignnone" width="680"]Image Credit : Hogson, English football manager[/caption]

England manager, Roy Hogson has named his 26-man provisional squad for Euro 2016 slated for June 10 in France.

The surprise inclusion was 18-year-old Manchester United forward, Marcus Rashford who made his debut in the second half of the season, and has been impressive, scoring seven goals in 16 games.

The teenager was named alongside more experienced options which includes Wayne Rooney, Jamie Vardy, Harry Kane and Daniel Sturridge.

Newcastle United winger Andros Townsend, Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere and Liverpool midfielder Jordan Henderson were also called up for the tournament.

Hodgson will use the games against Turkey and Australia to assess the squad ahead of submitting an official 23-man list to UEFA on 31 May, prior to the clash with Portugal at Wembley Stadium.

RELATED:  Patrice Evra Ends Contract With Marseille

England will play Wales, Russia and Slovakia in the group stages of Euro 2016. They kick off their Group B campaign against Russia on 11 June.

The Full List:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Tom Heaton (Burnley)

Defenders: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Danny Rose (Tottenham), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham), Ross Barkley (Everton), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Lverpool), James Milner
(Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Newcastle), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

RELATED:  Harry Kane Scores Twice As Spurs Thrash Liverpool 4-1

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leciester)