Super Eagles: Yusuf Invites 26-Players For friendlies

[caption id="attachment_7768" align="alignnone" width="620"]CREDIT: nigeriantimes.ngSalisu Yusuf, Super Eagles interim coach[/caption]

Super Eagles interim coach, Salisu Yusuf, has called up 26 players for the forthcoming international friendlies against Mali and Luxembourg in Europe.

The list features old horses John Mikel Obi, forwards Ahmed Musa and Odion Ighalo, and goalkeeper Carl Ikeme.

The former Enyimba coach also invited Brown Ideye, Raheem Lawal, William Troost-Ekong who had been overlooked by coaches in recent games.

Ideye, who recently won the Greek league title with Olympiakos, last featured for Nigeria under former coach Stephen Keshi.

Defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun and William Troost Ekong return, while Ogenyi Onazi, Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile, Moses Simon, Victor Moses, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Aaron Samuel were called back to the team.

Former Flying Eagles stars Gbenga Arokoyo, Chidozie Awaziem and Musa Muhammed were handed a call up for the first time.

Nigeria will take on Mali’s Les Aiglon at the Stade Richon in Rouen, France, on May 27th before facing the Luxembourg national side on June 1.

The full list of invitees:

Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)
Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)
Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars)

Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal)
Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)
Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France)
Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)
Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey)
Leon Balogun (Mainz 05, Germany)
Gbenga Arokoyo (Gaziantepspor, Turkey)
William Troost Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway)
Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy)
John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England)
Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England)
Wilfred Ndidi KRC Genk, Belgium)
Raheem Lawal (Osmanlispor FK, Turkey)
Etebo Oghenekaro (SC Farense, Portugal)

Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia)
Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)
Victor Moses (West Ham United, England)
Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)
Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)
Aminu Umar (Osmanlispor FK, Turkey)
Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia)
Brown Ideye (Olympiakos FC, Greece)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.