Telegram, popular for its encrypted messaging service has added self-destruct timer to images and videos that are shared on its platform.
The latest feature, which is similar to that of Snapchat and Instagram, will see shared photos and videos disappear after a few seconds.
How long it takes for the media to go away depends on how long you set the timer for, the company said in a blog post on Sunday.
“If you set a timer, the countdown starts the moment your recipient opens the photo or video you sent. After the time runs out, the photo/video will disappear forever, just like in Secret Chats.
“The new update Telegram v4.2, let users edit their photos quicker and in fewer steps. In the situation where the recipient tries to take a screenshot of the media with self-destruct timer, you will get a notification right away,” the company said.
Following the new update, the service is transitioning to a content distribution network (CDN) that it will use to cache photos and videos from its public channels, providing you with the ability to download them in a much quicker manner.
Users will also be able to add their bio description to their profile thus make them more easily recognizable in group chats.
The update for iOS and Android is available on both App Store and Google Play respectively.