Wayne Rooney Named England Player Of The Year

Manchester United and England Captain, Wayne Rooney has been named England Player of the Year 2015.

The 30-year old striker earned 37% of the votes cast by members of the England Supporters Club, he has now won the award four times, after also winning it in 2014.

The English man scored five goals last year, to become England’s highest goal scorer, overtaking Sir Bobby Charlton’s record.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane was runner-up with 30% and Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart in third place with 19%.

Stoke City goalkeeper Jack Butland was voted Under-21 Player of the Year, with Manchester United midfielder Jesse Lingard and Southampton’s James Ward-Prowse coming second, with both picking up 15%.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to get daily news updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.