Supreme Court Judgement: PDP Legislators, Others Defect To APC In Imo

Nine lawmakers of the Imo State House of Assembly have defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) from different opposition parties in the state.

The mass defection to the APC follows the verdict passed by seven judges of the Supreme Court who unanimously nullified the victory of Emeka Ihedioha of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and declared Hope Uzodimma of the APC as winner of the March 9, 2019 gubernatorial poll in the state.  

The defection was announced Tuesday by the speaker of the house, Collins Chiji who read their letters of defection during the plenary session of the state house.

The defection cut across the various opposition parties of the state which include the PDP, All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and Action Alliance (AA).

The lawmakers who defected included Authur Egwim (Ideato North) from AA to APC; Chyna Iwuanyanwu(Nwangele), PDP; Chidiebere Ogbunikpa(Okigwe), PDP; Obinna Okwara(Nkwerre), AA; and Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) also from PDP to APC.


Others are Ekene Nnodimele (Orsu) from APGA to APC, Johnson Duru (Ideato South), AA; Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) AA; and Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema) from PDP to APC.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.