2018 CAF Awards: Ighalo, Iwobi, Musa, Oshoala Make Nominees List

Super Eagles trio Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal) and Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai) have been named among nominees for the 2018 African Player of the year CAF Awards – slated to hold in Senegal for the first time in January.

The 34-man list which has the likes of Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Liverpool) and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), was announced on Friday by the Confederation of African Football.

Wilfred Ndidi who plays for Premier League club Leicester City was nominated in the Youth Player of the Year category, alongside five others, while Nigeria’s national team coach, Gernot Rohr was nominated in the Men’s Coach of the Year category.

Meanwhile, Super Falcons players, Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie, Onome Ebi and Francisca Ordega were nominated for the Women’s Player of the Year category.

Defending champions, Falcons, have made it through to the final of the ongoing African Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) in Ghana and also booked a place in next year’s FIFA World Cup.

The female national team cruised into the final on Tuesday evening after beating Cameroon 4-2 on penalties.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Dakar, Senegal; on January 8th, 2019

2018 CAF Awards Categories that involve Nigerian interests:

African Player of the Year

1. Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)

2. Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)

3. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr )

4. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

5. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)

6. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)

7. Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)

8. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

9. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

10. Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)

11. Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)

12. Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)

13. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)

14. Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)

15. Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

16. Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)

17. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

18. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)

19. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)

20. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

21. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

22. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

23. Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)

24. Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)

25. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)

26. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

27. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

28. Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

29. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)

30. Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)

31. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

32. Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)

33. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

34. Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)

Women’s African Player of the Year

1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)

2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)

3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)

4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

5. Desire Oparanozia (Nigeria & Guingamp)

6. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)

7. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)

8. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)

9. Gaelle Enganamouit (Cameroon & Avaldenes)

10. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)

11. Marlyse Ngo Ndoumbouk (Cameroon & Nancy-Lorraine)

12. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)

13. Portia Boakye (Ghana & Djurgardens)

14. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)

15. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth Player of the Year

1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)

2. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

3. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Aax)

4. Ismaila Sarr (Senegal & Rennes)

5. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)

6. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)

Men’s Coach of the Year

1. Corentin Martins (Mauritania)

2. Florent Ibenge (AS Vita & DR Congo)

3. Juan Carlos Garrido (Raja Club Athletic)

4. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

5. Nicolas Dupuis (Madagascar)

6. Patrice Carteron (Al Ahly)

7. Rachid Taoussi (ES Sétif)

8. Herve Renard (Morocco)

9. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

10. Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Women’s Coach of the Year

1. Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

2. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

3. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)

4. Saloum Houssein (Mali)

5. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Women’s National Team of the Year

1. Cameroon

2. Ghana

3. Mali

4. Nigeria

5. South Africa

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.