BREAKING: APC’s Abiru Wins Lagos East Senatorial Bye-Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Tokunbo Abiru, as winner of the just concluded Lagos East senatorial bye-election.

In the election which held on Saturday, Abiru scored a total of 89,204 votes while his closest rival and candidate the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Babatunde Gbadamosi, got a total of 11,257 votes, declared INEC.

Returning officer for the by-election, Professor Ademola Oremosu of the University of Lagos, declared the result at Somolu collation centre on Sunday morning.

Oremosu said, “I, Prof. Oremosu Ademola, certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2020 Lagos East Senatorial by-election held on the 5th day of December Year 2020. The election was contested.

“That Abiru Mukhail Adetokunbo of All Progressives Congress, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”

The INEC returning officer also declared that Muyiwa Adebanjo of Action Alliance (AA) got a total of 96 votes, Mercy Adeoye of African Action Congress (AAC) scored 248 votes, while John Kome of African Democratic Congress (ADC) polled 376 votes.

Oremosu said Adebowale Ogunlaru of Action Democratic Party (ADP) polled 535 votes, Olusola Babatope of Allied Peoples Movement (APM) scored 202 votes, Florence Trautman of Labour Party (LP) got 58 votes, while Adijat Lawal of New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) polled 52 votes.

Akin Olukunle of National Rescue Movement (NRM) got 65 votes, Saheed Aluko of Social Democratic Party (SDP) scored 35 votes, while Taiwo Temitope of Young Progressive Party (YPP) scored 208 votes, the returning officer added.

Leave a comment