JUST IN: APC Wins Ondo By-Election To Replace Interior Minister

The candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Ifeoluwa Ehindero, has been declared the winner of Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal constituency by-election in Ondo State.

The Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal constituency was won by Tunji Ojo during the 2023 general election but he vacated the seat after he was appointed by President Bola Tinubu as Minister of Interior.


After the Saturday poll in the constituency, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), through the Returning Officer, Professor Johnson Fasinmirin from the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), declared Ehindero winner following the counting of votes at the collation centre at Victory College, Ikare-Akoko, on Saturday.

Ehindero defeated the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Olalekan Bada, who was his closest rival.

The APC candidate garnered 35,504 votes to defeat Bada who scored 15,328 votes, while the African Democratic Congress(ADC) candidate, Ishmail Adeshina, polled 213 votes.

Announcing the result, the Returning Officer disclosed that the total votes cast was 51,896 while the valid votes cast was 51,341, He said 555 votes were rejected.


“I, Fasinmirin Johnson, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2024 Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal Constituency By-election held on Feb. 3.
“The election was contested and Ehindero Ifeoluwa Babajide of APC polled 35,504 while Bada Olalekan Oladapo scored 15,328.

“That Ehindero Ifeoluwa Babajide of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and return elected,” declared Johnson.

Leave a comment