Plot To Impeach Saraki ‘Fails’ As APC Senators Defect En Masse To PDP

An alleged plot to unseat Dr Bukola Saraki as President of the Nigerian Senate has reportedly failed on Tuesday, July 24, 2018.

The plot, allegedly by some senators opposed to Saraki’s alleged plot to defect to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), failed after 15 senators of the All Progressives Congress (APC) dumped the ruling party for the opposition PDP today.

The defecting senators are Rabi’u Kwankwaso (Kano-Central), Dino Melaye (Kogi-West), Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North), and Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central).


Others are Usman Nafada (Gombe), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa) Isa Misau (Bauchi) Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi) Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara) and Barnabas Gemade (Benue), while Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa) pitched tent with the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

The alleged initial plot to unseat Saraki was said to have stemmed from concluded plans by the Senate President to dump the ruling party for his erstwhile political party, PDP, hence the move by a section of the APC senators to impeach him.

Guardian quoted a source as saying, “There is a plan for rival Senate group to sit and elect new principal officers today,” but the plot apparently failed following the defection of the APC senators to the PDP.


Meanwhile, there are speculations that the invitation of the Senate President by the police on Monday and the subsequent siege laid to he and his deputy’s homes on Tuesday, were part of the alleged plot impeach him and stop the defecting senators from dumping the APC.


You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!